National Pig Association - The voice of the British pig industry

Pig World logo

Home > News > Last chance to nominate your Chris Brant Award nomination!

Last chance to nominate your Chris Brant Award nomination!

30th Jul 2020 / By Alistair Driver

Who has gone the extra mile this year, of all years, and deserves industry recognition for it? If you can think of someone, get your NPA Chris Brant Award nomination in!

After Wayland's Colin Stone picked up the coveted award last year, the search is on for the 2020 winner.

CB Logo smallThe judges will once again be looking for someone who consistently goes the extra mile for the industry.

"With so much happening in our industry, there is going to no shortage of candidates this year. In fact there never is," said award sponsor Richard Longthorp.

There is still time but nominations will close on July 31.

To nominate, email Richard at  with the name of who you are nominating and a brief explanation as to why they deserve to be the 2020 Chris Brant Award winner.

"It doesn't matter if you nominate someone you've nominated before," Richard said. "The judges still want to hear from you. And your nomination doesn't have to be the length of War and Peace… just jot down enough to help the judges make an informed choice.

"This award is not just about the well-known industry names, but also all the unsung heroes who do their bit for the industry day in, day out, with minimal recognition.

"It is often the case that the recipients don't see themselves as award-winning material. That is one of the things that makes this award so special, and so treasured by the illustrious cast of previous winners." 


  • 2019 Colin Stone 
  • 2018 Rita Wells
  • 2017 Sam Walton
  • 2016 Richard Lister
  • 2016  Special award — NPA’s Georgina Crayford, Zoe Davies, Lizzie Wilson, Andrea Vickers
  • 2015 Jimmy Butler
  • 2014 Digby Scott
  • 2013 Jonathan French
  • 2012 Peter Crichton
  • 2011 Nick White
  • 2011 Special Award — Digby and Ann Scott
  • 2010 Nigel Penlington
  • 2009 Hugh Crabtree
  • 2008 Fred Henley
  • 2006 Richard Longthorp 
  • 2006 John Rowbottom
  • 2004 Lynda Davies
  • 2002 John Millard
  • 1999 John Cusson
  • 1999 Chris Brant

Chris Brant Award Stone

2019 winner Colin Stone, pictured above, right, receiving his award from Richard Longthorp, was recognised for his 'sheer cussedness to not simply accept the status quo' and for being at the centre of 'significant change in our industry'. 

Chris Brant

The NPA Chris Brant Award is named after well-known producer and pig industry activist Chris Brant, who died in July 2009.

Chris Brant embodied all that was good about this industry. He was hard-working, blunt, rambunctious, a talented pig producer and as straight as a gun barrel. And he never, ever, failed to step up to the mark when his industry needed him.