National Pig Association - The voice of the British pig industry

Pig World logo

Home > News > Last chance to get your Chris Brant Award nomination in!

Last chance to get your Chris Brant Award nomination in!

6th Sep 2022 / By Alistair Driver

There are just a few days left to get your 2022 Chris Brant Award nomination award in. 

Nominations close on Friday, September 9. 

Chris Brant BerkshireThe Chris Brant Award, named after the much-loved industry campaigner, recognises those who have ‘gone the extra mile’ over the past 12 months. It could be a well-known figure or one of our industry’s many unsung heroes who have selflessly gone above and beyond in supporting others during the turmoil of the past year.

Won last year by pig vet Duncan Berkshire in recognition of his phenomenal contribution to the pig industry over the years, the winner will again be announced at the National Pig Awards in London in November.

How to nominate

Please email with your nomination and a few words explaining why you think they deserve the award. 

“This award is different to the others as it is not looking at what the individual has achieved on their farm or business – but at what they have done for the wider industry, over and above the day job,” NPA chief executive Zoe Davies said.

“There are so many potential winners out there who have given so much to their industry in the most difficult of times over the past year. It is nominated and judged by industry peers, which is one reason why I was so honoured and privileged to win it in 2020.

“However, this is more about identifying those people who go above and beyond, many of whom aren’t well known and just quietly do what they do without realising the real impact they have on others’ lives.

“Let us know why you think your nominee is special, the impact they have had, and why they deserve to join such an illustrious list of previous winners!”

Chris Brant

Chris Brant, who died in July 2009, was one of the leaders of the British Pig Industry Support Group, which ran from 1999-2001, regularly blockading retail distribution centres during those dark days and keeping a pig in Parliament Square.

Famously, in the words of Richard Longthorp, ‘hard-working, noisy, loyal and as straight as a gun barrel’, he never failed to step up to the mark when his industry needed him, characteristics that have set subsequent winners apart.


2021 Duncan Berkshire

2020 Zoe Davies

2019 Colin Stone 

2018 Rita Wells

2017 Sam Walton

2016 Richard Lister

2016  Special award — NPA’s Georgina Crayford, Zoe Davies, Lizzie Wilson, Andrea Vickers

2015 Jimmy Butler

2014 Digby Scott

2013 Jonathan French

2012 Peter Crichton

2011 Nick White

2011 Special Award — Digby and Ann Scott

2010 Nigel Penlington

2009 Hugh Crabtree

2008 Fred Henley

2006 Richard Longthorp 

2006 John Rowbottom

2004 Lynda Davies

2002 John Millard

1999 John Cusson

1999 Chris Brant