National Pig Association - The voice of the British pig industry

Pig World logo

Home > News > Who deserves to be the 2023 Chris Brant Award winner? Get your nominations in!

Who deserves to be the 2023 Chris Brant Award winner? Get your nominations in!

22nd Jul 2023 / By Alistair Driver

Who do you think has gone above and beyond on behalf of the pig sector and deserves to be named the 2023 Chris Brant Award winner?

Chris Brant Award Anna LongthorpThe Chris Brant Award, named after the much-loved industry campaigner, recognises those who have ‘gone the extra mile’ over the past 12 months.

It could be a well-known figure or one of our industry’s many unsung heroes who have selflessly gone above and beyond in supporting others during the turmoil of the past year.

Won last year by Yorkshire pig producer Anna Longthorp in recognition of her relentless campaigning under the #BiteIntoBritish banner, the winner will again be announced at the National Pig Awards in London in November.

How to nominate

Please email with your nomination and a few sentences explaining why you think they deserve the award. 

“This award is looking at what an individual or organisation has done for the wider industry, over and above their day job,” NPA chief executive Lizzie Wilson said.

“There have been some fantastic winners in the past, who have all demonstrated that passion and commitment to the pig industry, many of whom aren’t well known and quietly do what they do without realising the real impact they have on others’ lives.

"No doubt, there are many potential winners out there who are equally deserving. This award is nominated and judged by industry peers, so let us know why you think your nominee is special, the impact they have had, and why they deserve to join such an illustrious list of previous winners!”

Chris Brant

Chris Brant, who died in July 2009, was one of the leaders of the British Pig Industry Support Group, which ran from 1999-2001, regularly blockading retail distribution centres during those dark days and keeping a pig in Parliament Square.

In the words of Richard Longthorp, he was ‘hard-working, noisy, loyal and as straight as a gun barrel’ and never failed to step up to the mark when his industry needed him, characteristics that have set subsequent winners apart.


2022 Anna Longthorp

2021 Duncan Berkshire

2020 Zoe Davies

2019 Colin Stone 

2018 Rita Wells

2017 Sam Walton

2016 Richard Lister

2016  Special award — NPA’s Georgina Crayford, Zoe Davies, Lizzie Wilson, Andrea Vickers

2015 Jimmy Butler

2014 Digby Scott

2013 Jonathan French

2012 Peter Crichton

2011 Nick White

2011 Special Award — Digby and Ann Scott

2010 Nigel Penlington

2009 Hugh Crabtree

2008 Fred Henley

2006 Richard Longthorp 

2006 John Rowbottom

2004 Lynda Davies