National Pig Association - The voice of the British pig industry

Pig World logo

Home > News > Last chance to nominate your NPA Chris Brant Award candidate!

Last chance to nominate your NPA Chris Brant Award candidate!

8th Jul 2021 / By Alistair Driver

You have got less than two days to get your nomination in this year's NPA Chris Brant Award!

Do you know anyone who has ‘gone the extra mile’ over the past 12 months? It could be a well-known figure or one of our industry’s many unsung heroes who have selflessly gone above and beyond in supporting others during an incredibly difficult year.

CB Logo smallWon last year by NPA chief executive Zoe Davies, with other recent winners including Wayland’s Colin Stone (2019), Ladies in Pigs’ Rita Wells (2018) and former Pig World editor Sam Walton (2017), the 2021 winner will be announced at the National Pig Awards in London in November.

How to nominate

After many years of supporting this grassroots pig industry award, Richard Longthorp has passed the mantle onto the NPA, so that we can assure the future of this most important award for years to come.

Therefore from this year, please email  by Friday, July 9, 2021 with your nomination and a few words explaining why you think they deserve the award. 

“This award is different to the others as it is not looking at what the individual has achieved on their farm or business – but at what they have done for the wider industry, over and above the day job,” Zoe said.

“It is nominated and judged by industry peers, which is one reason why I was so honoured and privileged to win it last year. However, this is more about identifying those people who go above and beyond, many of whom aren’t well known and just quietly do what they do without realising the real impact they have on others’ lives.

“Let us know why you think your nominee is special, the impact they have had, whether at local or wider industry level – and why they deserve to join such an illustrious list of previous winners!”

Zoe CBA award

Chris Brant

The award is named after Chris Brant, who died in July 2009. One of the leaders of the British Pig Industry Support Group, which ran from 1999-2001, regularly blockading retail distribution centres during those dark days and keeping a pig in Parliament Square, he was famously hard-working, noisy, loyal and as straight as a gun barrel.

And he never failed to step up to the mark when his industry needed him, a characteristic that has set subsequent winners apart.


  • 2020 Zoe Davies
  • 2019 Colin Stone 
  • 2018 Rita Wells
  • 2017 Sam Walton
  • 2016 Richard Lister
  • 2016  Special award — NPA’s Georgina Crayford, Zoe Davies, Lizzie Wilson, Andrea Vickers
  • 2015 Jimmy Butler
  • 2014 Digby Scott
  • 2013 Jonathan French
  • 2012 Peter Crichton
  • 2011 Nick White
  • 2011 Special Award — Digby and Ann Scott
  • 2010 Nigel Penlington
  • 2009 Hugh Crabtree
  • 2008 Fred Henley
  • 2006 Richard Longthorp 
  • 2006 John Rowbottom
  • 2004 Lynda Davies
  • 2002 John Millard
  • 1999 John Cusson
  • 1999 Chris Brant