National Pig Association - The voice of the British pig industry

Pig World logo

Home > News > Who won the NPA Allied industry Member of the Year Award?

Who won the NPA Allied industry Member of the Year Award?

19th Nov 2019 / By Alistair Driver

The NPA Allied Industry Member of the Year was announced at the National Pig Awards on Monday night. 

And the winners were MS Schippers. The Dutch livestock equipment supplier came out top in online poll from a shortlist of six Allied Industry members nominated by the NPA. 

NPA Allied member Schippers

The award was presented by NPA chairman Richard Lister (right) during a ceremony presented by comedian Marcus Brigstocke (left). 

MS Schippers has been supplying livestock farmers for 50 years, growing during that time to become a major international player, with 350 employees, 10,000 products and 12 offices around the world.

Its HyCare method is a holistic approach to managing pigs, combining biosecurity and other steps that put health and animal welfare first without losing sight of productivity. The most important theme of the HyCare method is hygiene. The company stresses that animals living in a healthy environment suffer less disease and stress and have an improved resistance, leading to a significant decrease in antibiotic use.

"We have had a great ‘Passion for Farming’ for 50 years now. We serve livestock farmers and go to great lengths for it,” the company says.

The other shortlisted companies were: 

  • Bishopton Veterinary Group 
  • Huvepharma
  • Meadow Quality 
  • Primary Diets 
  • Zarkos-Smith Associates. 

The biggest award of the night, which took place in front of a record 430 people, went to Harper Adams University, which won the Indoor Producer of the Year and then Overall Producer of the Year, after going head-to-head with Outdoor Producer of the Year, Wayland Farms. 

You can see all the National Pig Award winners here

NPA chairman Richard Lister won up the prestigious David Black Award, in recognition for his leadership in reducing antibiotic usage, while Wayland's Colin Stone won the NPA Chris Brant Award